Refreshing Treat: Mango Yoghurt Smoothie

For a period of time, I was in a smoothie phrase and I’d crave for a yoghurt shake after lunch each day. At the fruit juice stalls near my office, the mangoes always look soooo succulent and tantalising, so I often ended up ordering mango yoghurt smoothie at 35 baht a pop. While not overly expensive, I started to wonder if I should make my own mango treats instead.

One day, while having dinner at Thong Lor, I finally succumbed to the lure of Mae Varee. A mango specialty store, its brightly lit facade was lined with rows and rows of oversize, ripe mangoes. I bought the cheapest Naam Dokmai varieties at 120 baht per kg and went into a mango smoothie frenzy soon after (recipe below).

[Psst, I heard Mae Varee’s mango sticky rice is better than their mangoes. I was rather disappointed with their mangoes, which turned out to be rather average-tasting, so I think I’ll rather pay for less branded ones at cheaper prices in future.]

Mango Yoghurt Smoothie

Ingredients (Serves 1-2)
* 1 large ripe mango, peeled and cut into chunks
* 1/2 cup yoghurt
* 1/2 cup crushed ice
* a pinch of salt

Method
Combine all the ingredients in the blender and puree until smooth. Serve.

It’s that easy! 🙂

But I didn’t anticipate that the cups would “sweat” so fast with the icy cold smoothies residing inside them, making it hard to style and take nice pictures within a short time frame. I gave up after a few snaps, so I could indulge in the treat while it was still cool—far more important!

3 thoughts on “Refreshing Treat: Mango Yoghurt Smoothie

Leave a Reply

