CNY leftover: bak kwa fried rice

IMG_1098Chinese New Year (CNY) came and went. My entire brood flew into Bangkok for a couple of days and we had such a tummy-bursting time! We had a buffet lunch in place of reunion dinner, ate lots of seafood and ordered a Peking duck for our last meal together in Bangkok. My family also brought some CNY goodies over to enable me to savour the festive feeling in Thailand. I had specifically requested for kueh lapis (the Indonesian layered cake) but my parents also brought over a bottle of pork floss snacks and a pack of bak kwa (pork jerky)—stuff food that are more symbolic of CNY, I guess. šŸ˜‰

IMG_1078Truthfully speaking, I’m rather ambivalent towards bak kwa, which is supposedly the top CNY goodie that so many are willing to sacrifice their money and time to get their hands on. And neither is Mr. P is a fan too. So before my family left for Singapore, I packed two-thirds of dried meat and sent it back with them. If I had kept the entire box to ourselves, I knew it would sit in our fridge for ages untouched.

IMG_1087Now CNY may be over, but I can still feel my folks’ love around. My dear mum suggested using bak kwa to cook fried rice, so I heeded her advice and whipped up bak kwa fried rice not once but twice last week. Both times, I cut the pork jerky into small pieces and mixed ingredients like baby corn, carrots and onions to jazz up the colours. And the results were quite good—the bak kwa yielded a similar taste as lap cheong (Chinese sausages). Mr. P and I both agree that we prefer eating bak kwa fried rice to biting on this calorie-laden snack on its own.

May we all have a prosperous Year of the Snake ahead!

IMG_1104

Leave a Reply

